Home » UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships for Developing Countries, 2018

UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships for Developing Countries, 2018

Applications are invited for UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships in 2018 Applications are open for developing countries students to conduct innovative and imaginative post-graduate research in four areas of development of particular interest to UNESCO. Up to 10 fellowships are offered by Government of Japan.

The aim of this scholarships is to encourage and support academically able and talented students.

Deadline : 30 November 2018
Study in : one or two countries. (Japan)

It should be understood that at the end of the Fellowship, the beneficiary must agree to return to his/her home country so that knowledge acquired may be put to good use in local research and training programmes.

Providers : UNESCO
Course Level : Research program
Field of Study :
  1.  Environment (with particular emphasis on disaster risk reduction (DRR);
  2.  Intercultural Dialogue
  3.  Information and Communication Technologies
  4.  Peaceful Conflicts Resolution

Benefits of UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships:

This scholarships  financed by Japan and administered by UNESCO will consist of the following:

  1.  A Lump sum contribution of US$10,000 will be awarded to selected candidates. The amount, to be paid in two or three installments, is intended to cover research costs only, and will not be negotiable.
  2.  No other costs will be considered and grants will be neither extended nor renewed.

Nationality for UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships

This fellowship is available for researchers of Developing Countries.

Number of Scholarships for UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships:

The Government of Japan offers 10 fellowships.

Eligibility for UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships: 

Eligible Countries: This scholarship is available for students of Developing Countries:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Ivory Coast, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea, Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Entrance Requirements: Applicants, a maximum of two from each applying National Commission, must meet the following general criteria:
  1. Candidates under this Programme must be post-graduate researchers, already holding either an M.A. or M.Sc. degree (or equivalent) and wishing to pursue research work abroad (preferably in their own region) with a view to enhancing knowledge in one of the four specific fields mentioned in paragraph D.1 below. Thus, those who are in the process of completing their Master’s degree must have completed it PRIOR to taking up their Fellowship.
  2. Candidates must be persons of high intellectual promise who may be expected to make significant contributions to their country on return.
  3. Candidates must be no more than 40 years of age. Thus, applicants born before 1 January 1978 will not be considered under the Programme.
  4. The selected Fellow must carry out the research under the auspices of an academic supervisor in a host institution. Confirmation of acceptance from the academic supervisor is imperative.
  5. Priority attention will be given to:
  • * Women candidatures
  • * Candidates from least developed countries (LDCs) and SIDS
  • * African researchers
  • * Those who may wish to pursue their research studies in Japan
  1. Candidates must be proficient in reading and writing the language of instruction in the proposed country of study/research.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *